Wayang is Recognized by UNESCO

11 World Heritage Objects in Indonesia

World Heritage of Intangible Culture
Indonesia has 4 World Heritage Intangible Culture objects. 
It is an Indonesian traditional art which is mainly developed in Java and Bali. Sunan Kali Jaga and Raden Patah are instrumental in developing wayang. Wali in Java has organized wayang in such a way into three parts. First, Wayang Kulit in East Java. Second, Wayang Wong or Wayang Orang in Central Java. Third, Wayang Golek in West Java. They are very depending on each other: “Where is the content (Wayang Wong) and where is the skin (Wayang Kulit) must be sought (Wayang Golek)”. Wayang show has been recognized by UNESCO on 7 November 2003 as amazing cultural work in Masterpiece of Oral and Intangible Heritage of Humanity category. Nowadays, wayang is not only in the form of wayang kulit and wayang orang, there is also e-wayang in which its developing process employs digital facilities. E-wayang can be viewed at: http://e-wayang.org


0 komentar:

Post a Comment